# **MINUTES**

# Meeting of Board of Studies for Balwant Sheth School of Architecture (BSSA)

17th September, 2019

10.00 am



SVKM'S Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies (NMIMS) V. L. Mehta Road, Vile Parle (W), Mumbai 400 056 TEL.: 91-22-42332000 FAX: 91-22-26114512

> Email: sptm@nmims.edu VISIT US AT:www.nmims.edu

#### SVKM's

Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies (NMIMS) (Deemed to be University) **Balwant Sheth School of Architecture** 

17th September, 2019

## **Minutes of Meeting**

The following are the minutes of the Board of Studies (BOS) meeting of Balwant Sheth School of Architecture (BSSA) held on **Tuesday**, 17<sup>th</sup> **September**, 2019 at 10.00 am in the Conference room of Balwant Sheth School of Architecture.

The following members were present for the meeting:

- 1. Naushir DeVitre, Talati and Panthaky Associated Designers LLP., Member BoS
- 2. Mr. Nitin Killawala, Group Seven Architects and Planners Pvt. Ltd., Member BoS
- 3. Prof. Ar. Aparna Surve, Dean
- 4. Prof. Vidya Raghu, Associate Dean
- 5. Prof. Atrey Chhaya, Assistant Professor & Coordinator M. Arch. Programme
- 6. Prof. Dipal Chhaya, Assistant Professor & Coordinator CIED Programme

The leave of absence was granted to Mr. Amit B. Sheth, Mentor – BSSA and Ms. Firoza Kavrana, Talati and Panthaky Associated Designers LLP., Member BoS.

The following agenda was discussed during the meeting:

➤ Introduction of new electives for B. Arch. Programme.

## The following points were discussed:

It was decided that the following electives will be added across five years of the B. Arch. Course:

- 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> year (Sem I, II, III and IV):
  - a. Drawing the language of Architecture
  - b. Vernacular crafts
- 3<sup>rd</sup> year (Sem V and VI):
  - a. Coding and Scripting
  - b. Innovation Design
- 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup> year (Sem VII, VIII and IX):
  - a. Writing in Architecture
  - b. Urban sociology
  - c. Indian aesthetics



All the above electives are approved by all the members and the meeting was ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

Mr. Naushir DeVitre

Mr. Nitin Killawala

Prof. Ar. Aparna Surve

Prof. Vidya Raghu

Prof. Atrey Chhaya

Prof. Dipal Chhaya